War

I am more balance than burn,
less flame than air, and yet
my heart triumphs like a well-spread
rumor, living for the secrets it keeps
better than it keeps itself.

Have you ever counted out
the things you do not say? Have you tried
to weigh them against reality, desire
peeking out from behind patience,
fingers wrapped around
love like the hilt of a knife?

I am more heart than mind,
less earth than water, a gift
that gives until it gives out,
an echo throwing itself into the dark.
Challenge it.
Challenge me.
Challenge everything.

This is what I do not say:
fight
A single word shaped
into a single weapon. I say
nothing. This is not my war,
and yet –
I want it to be.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

