Home > Uncategorized > Gathered

Gathered

My heart is an unsound framework,
a foundation set without a blueprint,
a wind longing for walls –
everything happened,
and now, it didn’t:
a reminder that doubt sometimes
shatters windows
that don’t yet exist. 

There’s a rock in my hand, 
and I don’t know what I’ve broken,
or how many apples I’ve eaten
but never tasted – today,
I’m still starving for bricks,
and you should know this: 
I just want to build
something
with you. 

Draw it out. Give me
everything in soft explanations,
tell me how things might change,
tell me what our almost plan is,
and I’ll never hold you
to any promise you don’t seal with a kiss.

Everyone expects stability,
a ceiling, a heart like a solid roof –
but I am only looking 
to be gathered up, waiting
like an empty horizon,
possibilities keening
like lovestruck stars, always
leaning toward an oversized
hope –
let us arrange ourselves
not side by side, but with all angles
touching; let us
bend the world to save us both.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Girl, this is so good. You have got to stop giving them away for free. They should be published!

    • March 27, 2014 at 6:38 pm

      Thank you, Beth! You do know I have a poetry book out, yes? I’m really glad that you liked this. 🙂

  2. March 27, 2014 at 11:40 pm

    Yes. Even more reason… 🙂 Where might I purchase this book?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

