Home > Uncategorized > Tu Me Manques

Tu Me Manques

Every time someone else’s phone rings,
my heart thinks it’s you, and I reach
to answer reflexively, just like I
can’t help but search for your face
in every passing car –
congratulations, Pavlov,
I’m lost. Isn’t that what
you were afraid you always wanted?

Every time my phone lights up,
my heart beats faster, wondering
if I’ll see your name, but
everything collapses when it’s
someone else; congratulations,
I can’t breathe without you –
tu me manques (I miss you).

Every time I think of you,
my heart turns into a bomb
and everything bruises, proving
I am not bulletproof, and I don’t
know which of us holds the gun –
but somebody’s always dying.

Every time I say I love you,
my heart feels its own mortality,
and I realize that I don’t know how to say I
anymore, but we is still broken,
and even though I was born
to survive, this isn’t what living
is supposed to feel like.

Every time I kiss the silence,
my heart calls me a coward,
and there is nothing honest
about the embrace – it feels
too much like drowning,
but I can’t remember air.

Every time you don’t call,
my heart stops – I feel like
I’ve been dead all year,
but I could never be
indifferent, never turn
love into apology,
so this is how I hold forgiveness,
an offering made of the wrong verbs
and every missed phone call –
whatever happens, or doesn’t happen,
it will still – it will always –
be you.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 26, 2014 at 11:55 am

    “My heart turns into a bomb.” Wow. The context, words, thoughts, feeling surrounding that emphasizes that line to the nth degree. The phrase says a lot more since it has its own line.

    Now that I think about it, looking back at the poem, the second line of each of the stanzas are all powerful. I am sure you intended it to be that way, but wow… Each second line is a slap from the dark that leave burns of awakening.

    Great poem, Ali.

    • February 26, 2014 at 6:01 pm

      Thank you SO much, Christopher! I’m really glad that you enjoyed this, and that the emotions carried throughout the poem. Thank you so much for the lovely comment. 🙂

  2. February 26, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    powerful poem, ali. amazing, beautiful girl.

    • February 26, 2014 at 6:04 pm

      *blushing* Thank you so much, dear heart! ❤ ❤ ❤

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

