Home > Uncategorized > A Thousand Imaginary Conversations

A Thousand Imaginary Conversations

The plan was simple:
keep quiet, keep away, 
like the game we played as children,
running through lines
and never looking back –
an easy escape.

But, then, all my lies
turned to ghosts, my heart
swelling like a bruise,
all ugly colors
and broken magic tricks,
a love too bloody 
to ever forget the word fight.

Then, I broke a dish
just to empathize 
with the word shatter.

Then, I swallowed nails
just to remember 
what the word strong
tastes like.

Then, I forgot everything
except your voice
turning into a miracle
whenever you spoke my name.

Today, this is where
I am living –
in the silences of a thousand 
imaginary conversations,
and my love is an open box
that whispers too late,
you’ve already let the monster out.

The plan was simple; it was your
blueprint, your careful instructions,
a way out of this wayward
fairytale; but you overlooked
the structure of all good stories,
selling the word need
at too low of a discount.

Love is feeling, 
not a weapon; love
is obliging, never obligating – 
but so what
if I need you?
but so what
if I miss you?
but so what
if I stay away?

You can dam
any river, but that
won’t change the rain.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 11, 2014 at 9:57 am

    Oh, Ali. Stunning.

    • February 11, 2014 at 10:41 am

      Thank you so much, Beth! I’m really glad that you liked this. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

