Home > Uncategorized > Of Logic and Lady Parts

Of Logic and Lady Parts

“It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one’s mouth and remove all doubt.” – Mark Twain

            Yesterday, someone insulted my intelligence, questioning my ability (as a WOMAN) to be logical. And normally, I’d just let that go, because that opinion is loosely based, not in reality, but in bullshit.

            Except, really. No. That’s not okay.

            A friend of mine and I were having a twitter conversation about logic – technically, it was in regard to asshats on the internet and how they tend to FLAIL and sputter at things like REASON. In the midst of that conversation, another Tweeter (Twitterer?) joined in with the quip, “No offense, but…” followed by a graphic that depicted men’s logic as linear – and women’s as, well, a hodgepodge of intersecting, crazypants lines.

            This does not fly. Certainly, almost always, when someone begins a sentence with, “No offense, BUT…” whatever follows is, indeed, a steaming pile of WTF, lightly coated in NO. This was not an exception by any means.

            Logic is not gender-specific, folks. A man can have haphazard logic just as easily as a woman. Unless he is SPOCK, because he’s not so much a MAN as he is a Vulcan. But I digress.

            The beautiful thing about people is that we are all people – inherently different, based on things like personality and interests. As a woman, I am not predisposed to erratic behavior or subpar reasoning skills. This is not some kind of genetic inalienable absolute. Sure, I can be irrational. I’ve shouted. I’ve had FEELINGS, and I’ve done The Wacky. But that isn’t because I have lady parts. It’s because I am a person. And people have moments.

            But I also have to point something out. My ability to be logical is not mutually exclusive to my ability to have conflicting, or confusing, thoughts. Because, hey, life is nuts sometimes. And it doesn’t come with an instruction manual. Occasionally, I wish it did, but I also think that might be a bit boring.

            I’m very good at reasoning things out. I don’t approach a situation hysterically, even when I have The Feels, or passion about something – and I certainly don’t need someone to hold my hand to walk from Point A to Point B. I am not, in fact, an idiot.

            See, accusing someone of being illogical based on her sex isn’t just a sign of bullshit. It is also a sign of an entire mentality wherein we craft false opinion based on stereotypes – thinking, somehow, that it’s okay to pull that kind of crappy move. It’s not. This isn’t a whoops moment. It’s not an accident. It is, in fact, a pervasive bit of misogyny. Perhaps in its most mild form, but it is still there. You cannot wash away the stink or sting with an, “Oops! Sorry. My bad. It was a dumb moment.”

            That’s not a moment. It’s not a joke. It’s an insult. And I don’t care for those.

            Here are some fun facts about me. I have an IQ of 143. I argued my way through graduate school. I don’t routinely use words like pastiche and la parole, but I can. Just because I don’t talk like that in my everyday life doesn’t mean I’m not capable of it. I just don’t want to be the toolbag at a dinner party who people need a dictionary to converse with. To suggest that I cannot, as a woman, be logical is an attempt to underscore my education, my intelligence, and (honestly) who I am. I would never walk up to a man and assume he’s full of logic and reason, simply because he possesses a penis and a pulse. Logic and reason isn’t genetically encoded to the Y chromosome. In fact, I wouldn’t assume anything, because that’s a shitty thing to do to someone you don’t know well – and I’d argue that it’s also a shitty thing to do to someone you DO know well.

            It is a shame that I have to say this, but I do: think before you speak. Is what you’re about to say rude? Insensitive? And possibly made of NONSENSE? Okay. Then, to be frank, shut the fuck up. Don’t be a troll. Don’t be a dick. And don’t insult my intelligence.

            Any questions?

  1. Jessica
    September 20, 2013 at 8:19 am

    I can’t even understand this entry it’s so illogical, must be because you have boobs.

    Seriously though, I think it’s incredibly frustrating when people make assumptions about you based on what they can see, which is particularly frustrating on the Internet because whoever is making the assumption is going off a very small sliver of your personality and who you are as a person. And gender is one of those that has become so easy (and acceptable) to generalize that I think a lot of people are more forthcoming about their assumptions.

    Also, if you begin a sentence with “No offense, but…” Well, as Tyrion would say, nothing before the “but” really matters.

    • September 20, 2013 at 3:05 pm

      I couldn’t agree more. And Tyrion is always, always right. GoT ftw.

  2. September 20, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Well said!

    • September 20, 2013 at 3:05 pm

      Thank you very much! I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment. 🙂

  3. Rat
    September 20, 2013 at 10:17 am

    All I have to add is that IQ doesn’t mean a thing. It’s a number often used to oppress others, anyway.

    • September 20, 2013 at 3:07 pm

      I’m not sure I agree with your assessment on IQ. I can’t see how it is meant to, or could, oppress anyone. It is simply one measure among many, not the end-all, be-all.

  4. September 20, 2013 at 11:42 am

    Ironically, I often become illogical in the presence of beautiful women with high IQ’s. It’s clearly due to me being a silly manthing who can’t think straight at the slightest hint of beauty. :/

    • September 20, 2013 at 3:08 pm

      Oh, Greek. You crack me up. I think we are all capable of The Silly in the presence of people we find attractive. I’ve been speechless a time or two. 😉

  5. September 20, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    Preach it.

  6. September 25, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Thank you thank you thank you. This is something that has annoyed me for proverbial centuries. While women MAY be more emotional than men, the inherent problem with generalized society is the premise that Emotion and Logic are mutually exclusive. THEY ARE NOT. I am an emotional person, and my thought patterns may very well be disorganized at times, but this is because I am a CREATIVE type, not because I have ovaries. And even so, what`s wrong with non-linear thought? And furthermore, are men not “allowed” to have emotions, or less logical thought? Does that make them less manly? Not to mention that I am totally able, THANKS TO A RATIONAL BRAIN, OMG, to ascertain when I am more emotionally-fueled than usual and orient my decisions therewith. This whole “wiminz are hysterical” thing is dated, offensive and frankly, completely stupid, just as much as the whole “men are solely objective, blinder-wearing, coldhearted calculators” thing is.

    • Bran MacFeabhail
      September 25, 2013 at 10:56 pm

      Women are allowed and encouraged to be more outwardly emotional than men, but it’s been my experience that men seem to feel more deeply (and irrationally) than women. Us gals are way more practical than we like to admit.

      • September 29, 2013 at 10:36 am

        I consider myself to be well-rounded — I can be emotional or logic, but it isn’t dependent on my sex, damn it! *does dramatic Scarlett O’Hara fist shake* 😉 Thank you for reading and commenting!

      • Bran MacFeabhail
        October 4, 2013 at 11:40 pm

        Haha no problem. Enjoyable post 🙂

    • September 29, 2013 at 10:39 am

      *points upward* THIS. SO MUCH THIS. Side-note confession: I read “blinder-wearing” as “binder-wearing,” and then started to laugh — because of that whole Binders Full of Women fiasco. SO MUCH FOR SERIOUS THINKING. hehe

  7. September 25, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Also your whole “because he’s not so much a MAN as he is a Vulcan” thing made me laugh harder than appropriate in my shitty office. I BLAME YOU I’M HYSTERICAL NOW OMG

    • September 29, 2013 at 10:37 am

      I consider this a HUGE success. WOOT! ❤

  8. September 27, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Yes! I hate how logic and reason are being attributed as masculine qualities.

  9. September 30, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    That’s my favorite Mark Twain quote! I don’t like it when people assume either. When you assume, you make an ass out of you and me.

  1. September 25, 2013 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

