Home > following your heart could possibly lead off a cliff, prose poem > kiss me, and you’ll see how important i am*

kiss me, and you’ll see how important i am*

 

My confessions come easily enough. They are small at first, fledgling. I miss you. I missed you. You are important to me. These have no teeth, just a smile. They are honesty without expectation.

I need you. I want you. I love you. These are more dangerous. They are another layer gone. A moment stripped of armor, arms wide, hands shaking. With you, there are no walls. Nothing held back. No secrets. There is no need. It is as freeing as it is terrifying. I would not have it any other way.

Your confessions are different. At first, they are wordless, without tangible form, but just as dangerous as mine. A look. A sigh. A kiss. Hands tangled. Every movement stops time, breaks it straight down the center. A day passes. An hour. I don’t know. I don’t even care.

Then you murmur in my ear. I think I hear you say I love you. Your words are soft, low – careful – almost bashful, but never hesitant. I hold on to them. I hold on to everything. How could I not?

This is who we are. I would not trade us for the world.

So, how important am I?

*Sylvia Plath wrote that.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. April 17, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

