red lipstick, love, and laughter

I don’t believe in perfection. I believe in working very hard. I believe in kindness. I believe in the power of coffee, red lipstick, love, and laughter. I believe in people. I believe in risk. I believe in taking chances, being braver than you credit yourself with/for, and saying I love you when it’s meant. Not before. And not too late. When it’s true. The same goes for apologies.

I don’t believe in perfection.

I believe that sometimes you have to sing out loud no matter where you are. The car. The grocery store. The shower. Some moments must be sung. I believe that there are some days that can be turned around by baking cookies. Or having wine. Or curling up with a good book or a good hug. Do not underestimate the power of a good hug. Do not underestimate the power of a good kiss. Kiss well and kiss often. Always dance around the house. It makes life more fun.

I don’t believe in perfection.

I believe that love is bigger than we want to believe. Love can be scary, but it can fix the unfixable. So can friendship. These two things together? Unbeatable. It’s like Buttercup’s speech to Prince Humperdink in the Princess Bride. She was right. As you wish.

I don’t believe in perfection.

I believe in phone calls at 3 am. Or in the middle of the day. I believe in honesty. I believe in communication. I believe that things can change. That things should change. And that the easy things are easy for a reason: they’re entirely too safe. Safety is often mistaken for duty, comfort, and reason. There is nothing reasonable about stagnation.

I don’t believe in perfection.

I believe in dressing up for no reason. I believe in tequila. I believe in rum. I believe in lace underwear and cute bras. I believe in skirts and dresses and grace. I believe in raincoats, leather boots, and smiling. Never underestimate the power of a smile, or the way a man will brush your hair from your face. Love is more than just words. It’s the way someone looks at you. It’s the way someone holds you. It’s the way your voice turns soft when you say the other person’s name.

I don’t believe in perfection.

Tell me what you believe.

  1. January 28, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    I believe in friendships, both real and virtual. I believe in the antidepressant properties of a baby’s giggle and good piece of chocolate. I believe in the magic I find between the covers of a book.

    • January 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      Agreed, on all things. Big hugs, Patty!

  2. January 28, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    I believe a smile lifts everyone’s spirits. I believe in curling up with a good story and a cup of hot tea on a rainy day. I believe…I simply believe.

    • January 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      That is lovely! Thank you for reading and commenting!! 🙂

  3. Lou
    January 28, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    I believe life is a miracle, and you are miraculous.

    • January 28, 2013 at 7:44 pm

      Lou, you are a treasure. *big hugs* Thank you, lovey.

  1. January 30, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

