Home > Poetry > goldfish

goldfish

you and I
are goldfish, forgetting
and remembering each other
like it’s the first
and last time.
the memories pile up
like water, until they
are the only thing left to breath,
reflections
of you and me, me and you,
witnessed by strangers
that wear our eyes.

i love you
.

where did that come from?
who said that? And why
do I feel
as if oxygen doesn’t matter,
that the only thing worthy
is the breath between a kiss?
memories
are easy enough
to kill, but feelings
are the scales across our bodies.

i love you
.

something I am not supposed
to say, although I pretend
not to remember why. I imagine
us somewhere else,
not a fish bowl, but an ocean,
a lake, anywhere.
then, I forget you.
then, I forget myself.

who are we, and how did we get here?

Categories: Poetry
  1. Jessica
    December 11, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Just so you know, I read this, and then promptly burst into tears. Love you, love it, stop stealing my soul. ❤

    • December 17, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      Love you too, chica! Also, I gave up soul-stealing years ago. They tend to singe the fingertips. 😉

  2. December 11, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    Beauriful!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

