Home > Poetry > In Nomine Amoris*

In Nomine Amoris*

 

this religion is ours.
there is no temple,
no chalice, no holy book.
we are what we worship,
all fingers and skin,
a kiss made of prayers,
drunk on wine
and each other,
a covenant between bodies
seeking salvation.

your hands
are a psalm, and my hips
are a rosary – this dance
a perfect call and response,
a Sunday morning
in the middle of a week, a letter
from the gospel according
to us.

my heart is a cross
and you are nailed to it,
as I am to yours. At times,
faith feels like a question,
a favor asked to an empty sky,
but we are our own
resurrection
again and again and again.

my prayers are never silent,
my peace is never weak,
and no matter the confession,
the obsession, the candle
lit in perfect dark –
we are what we worship.
we are the love we seek.

*latin: in the name of love

Categories: Poetry
  1. sharono360
    November 13, 2012 at 9:37 am

    I see the muse has not abandoned you! I am still around, don’t let the different name fool you. Keep up the good work. Oh and I have a couple of bloggies here at WP….I like it here.

    • November 13, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      SHARON! So glad to see you, my dear. Do you blog under this name? 🙂 I like WP, too.

  2. November 13, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Whew! Temperature rose a little after reading that one!

    • November 13, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      Then my work here is done. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

