Home > advice -- not that you asked > the small things

the small things

 

The smallest thing can make a difference.

We often forget that. It’s easy to do. But the truth is still just that: the truth. The unexpected kindness, or the simple act of following through: these are things that brighten a day and lift a spirit. An action that says Hey, I care. It can be something as simple as holding open a door for someone else. Buying someone a cup of coffee. Writing a nice note. Making time for someone else.

These are beautiful things.

When life gets rough, or the day seems long, that is when the small gestures matter most. It doesn’t have to cost a lot of money. It doesn’t have to cost anything at all. The simple act of showing that you care? It’s priceless. (A dear friend reminded me of this, yesterday.)

For me, especially recently, I know how easy it is to get bogged down by the crap life throws at a person. The weather’s turning cold. It’s easy to be cranky. But then, the phone rings – and I feel better. Or I get something in the mail. Or someone sends me a wonderful email. It reminds me that there’s always something to look forward to, there’s always something on the horizon, even if we can’t quite see it yet.

I don’t need fancy things. I don’t need sweeping grand gestures. I need the little things and small choices. I don’t need someone to be perfect. I need you to be present.

In case you need a reminder: the small things often make the biggest difference. So, pick up the phone. Put something in the mail. Hold open a door. Because you never know when something like that will change someone’s day completely.

  1. October 10, 2012 at 9:32 am

    What a wonderful reminder 🙂

  2. Jessica
    October 10, 2012 at 9:40 am

    It’s true, and it works in both directions. One little thing can make or break a day. One little thing can be the difference between walking home smiling, or running for the hills with arms reaching for the pint of ice cream. I think that people can be really oblivious to how their actions impact others.

  3. October 10, 2012 at 11:33 am

    You’re right! Thanks for the reminder!

  4. October 11, 2012 at 12:17 am

    I so agree with this Ali. The tiniest things can make my day. Last week I had a nearly flat tire, was having the worst day at work, when the Triple A guy showed up and he was so kind and sweet, he made such an impact I cheered up. Random. But true.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

