Home > Poetry > Together

Together

So, I recorded an audio for this, cringing every time I came across the word asked. Because I pronounce it strangely. My parents are from NY. I blame them. At least I don’t say idears, instead of ideas. Or yous guys. Trust me, it could be MUCH worse.

Anyway, the audio is here: together. And the text is below.

This silence belongs to us, hanging
in between our bodies, convenient
if only for the sake of purpose –
I wait without prompting
or precedence; I wait
without having to be asked,
because you were trying
to spare me, not understanding
that I am like a crow
in the morning, that I am a song
that never gets old, that I am a poet
and you are the poem. Sometimes,
we switch roles. Sometimes,
I want you to write my rhymes,
draw your dreams across my body,
kiss me until all my consonants
are laid bare, enjambed
over and over again
until we are one long run-on sentence,
grammar (and consequences) be damned.

That is how I feel:
a pause before a promise,
a hesitation before recklessness,
a love note written on a post-it square:
I miss you,
which really means
I love you
(I am sorry that I didn’t say it out loud.)

So, this silence
is something we own, something we made,
something we are offering each other
out of necessity, out of desire,
out of love. I asked you
what do you need
and this is it: patience.
And this is it: silence.
And this is it: time.
And I said okay,
when what I really meant was
you can have everything,
when what I meant was
I will wait for you,
when what I meant was
we’ll figure this out
together.

Categories: Poetry
  1. Nicholas
    June 26, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    this is gorgeous. thank you for posting.

    • June 26, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      *blushes* Thank you very much! And thank you, as well, for reading and commenting. 🙂

  2. June 26, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    This is wonderful! If someone wrote me a poem like this I’d melt.

    • June 26, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      Jim, I have to say — you are so good for my ego. Thank you. Seriously. You always make me smile. I’m really glad that you liked this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

