Home > Poetry > If Charon Had a Tea Party

If Charon Had a Tea Party

(Note: This was part of mythological series I wrote.)

 

You are most welcome here,
I assure you. I have been expecting you.
Please, come in – sit down. Never mind
if it rocks a little. It won’t tip over.
At least it hasn’t yet.

Tea? Good, good. I’m glad you’ll have a cup.
What’s that? My eyes?
Oh, yes. They are a bit strange.
It’s a family trait, I’m afraid.

I do beg your pardon, but
what a lovely coin that is –
might I see it? Is this gold?
It feels as if it is.
How did you come by it?
Ah, you don’t remember.
Keep it? Why, I couldn’t.
Well, if you insist.

I do hate to rush you,
but it’s time you were on your way.
Oh, you’re confused. I see.
We’ve taken a small journey
across the river Styx.
I so enjoyed our visit. I’d say
that I’m looking forward
to seeing you again,
but that’d be a lie, I’m afraid.

Goodbye, now.

Categories: Poetry
  1. December 21, 2011 at 10:23 am

    *shivers* wow, would not want to attend this tea party 🙂

    • December 30, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Patty, me either! 😉 Thanks for reading!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

