Home > Random Musings > Traditions, the Drunk Tree Salesman, and Other Assorted Holiday Tidbits

Traditions, the Drunk Tree Salesman, and Other Assorted Holiday Tidbits

It’s the time of year when my world sparks with cold – and walking the dog feels like a trip through the Wardrobe into Narnia, without the awesomeness of Mr. Tumnis. Or any Turkish Delight. I live in a place where winter is WINTER, and I’m one who tolerates the cold very well. Layers are my friend. This is my home, so I’ll gladly wear three sweaters, purple striped gloves, and my very pink Strawberry Shortcake hat. Because home isn’t just where you happen to live. It’s the place that feels like love. So what if it also includes icicles?

But this isn’t about the cold. It’s about Christmas. This time of year always makes me contemplative. I suppose it does for a lot of people. I’m lucky, because I have a great family and wonderful friends. Some near and some far, but all awesome.

There are so many things I’m grateful for this year. Having a cookie baking marathon with my BFF, where everything went wrong (burnt cookies, burnt caramel, and cookies that did not hold their shape), but it was still fun. And we can laugh at ourselves.

Trying to find a Christmas tree with the root ball, so that it can be planted, was an adventure. The tree farm that we went to almost my entire life is closed, now. I must’ve called fifty different places to ask if they sold live trees. The first man I spoke to was so drunk that I nearly didn’t believe it. He was also out of trees. (Out of trees? You’re a tree farm. I don’t think the Ents would approve.) After a lot of searching, one has been acquired. It is perfect, and it smells like Christmas and childhood.

For the first time ever, I’m cooking Christmas Eve dinner this year. It is an Italian tradition of 7 fish. I forget the significance, even though I ask after it every year. I’m a bit afraid that I’ll overcook the scallops or somehow wreck the seafood sauce, but I am also excited. I want to know how to make the things my mom makes. Thanksgiving, I’ve got down. This is the next challenge. I choose to see it as such. In the immortal words of Barney Stinston – CHALLENGE ACCEPTED. *suits up*

I spent a few days locating important pieces of Christmas: my Santa Hat, a copy of Dominick the Donkey, and the stockings for my animals. (Side-note: I ordered some toys for my cats and dog for Christmas. There was a problem with the order, and I had to ask the lady if the items would be here for Christmas…because I bought presents for my pets. I can only assume by her silence and slowness to answer that she thought I was this side shy of crazy.)

I love the holidays and the silly traditions I have (watching Bridget Jones and Love Actually while wrapping presents). I hope you have silly traditions, too, and that the holiday is full of magic, laughter, and lots of joy. You can’t put a price on that, and you can’t wrap it. The good thing is that stuff like that doesn’t need a bow.

Nota bene: For anyone who hasn’t heard Dominick the Donkey, here:

  1. Jim
    December 14, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Wonderful entry. PS — I don’t think she thought you were “shy of crazy” at all!

    • December 15, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Thank you, Jim!! 🙂 Your comment made me smile.

  2. December 14, 2011 at 10:17 am

    When I was a kid, our cats had stockings and got treats from Santa. They would bat at the empty stockings all month, in anticipation of what was coming, so I’m sure your four-legged friends appreciate their traditions too!

    • December 15, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Adrienne, I’m so glad that it’s not just me! Hell, even the horse gets extra treats and carrots. She even has a stocking…*grin*

  3. December 14, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Okay, see, when I read the title of this post, I thought you had a drunken Christmas TREE, and I thought, cool, there’s someone else who got one! Because as hard as I tried, I still managed to come home from the Choose N Cut lot (yes I’m a tree murderer) with a tree that pretends to be straight, then careens at a wild angle halfway up.

    Dominick the Donkey – don’t know how I managed to never hear this one. That is one crazy video. What do pandas and horses have to do with anything?

    And we have stockings for all our animals, including the horses. What’s wrong with that?

    Merry Christmas, Ali, and good luck with the feast. I know you’ll do it justice.

    • December 15, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Oh, Gayle — you’re not alone. Usually, the tree gets wired to the wall so that a) it no longer looks drunk and b) the animals don’t accidentally topple it. When my cat was a kitten, you’d catch two eyes peering out from the middle of our Christmas tree. Awesome, if not slightly creepy…hehe

      As for the video, I actually watch it; I just listened to the song. I couldn’t find one that didn’t have some sort of interpretation.

      Merry Christmas to you, too, Gayle! I hope yours is wonderful — and thank you for the vote of confidence!!

  4. December 15, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    I love your comment: “. . . home isn’t just where you happen to live. It’s the place that feels like love.” You’re so right – silly traditions, magic, laughter, and lots of joy don’t come with a price tag and don’t need a bow.

    Great post and love the addition of the santa hat to your picture. 😉

    • December 20, 2011 at 10:11 am

      Thank you — on both accounts! 🙂

  5. December 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Love… the 7 fish reminds me of my own Christmas eve memories with my grandma… and my absolute to fav movies are Bridget Jones and Love Actually!

    • December 20, 2011 at 10:08 am

      I love you know about the seven fish! Most people look at me blankly when I mention it. I was able to watch Love Actually last night while wrapping; it is such a classic. Tonight, Bridget Jones!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

