Halloweens Past

Growing up, Halloween was a sacred occasion. Every year, I’d decide what I was going to be about six months in advance. Then I’d change my mind fifty times, only to go with the original costume.

My costumes were always awesome. How do I know this? My mom made them, sometimes from scratch, but always with love. I was a lucky kid.

So, in honor of the upcoming holiday, I went through old photos of Halloweens past. It wasn’t just a look at old costumes; it was always a walk through the past. I saw pictures of people I hadn’t thought about it ages. I remembered silly things I’d forgotten. (Not, mind you, the Halloween that wasn’t. Who could forget that?)

Let’s start at the beginning, when I born (sorry, David Copperfield). My nurse dressed me up as Tinkerbell. I think I look like a ballerina, but I was only a couple of weeks old. If my finger had glowed, I would’ve been ET.

Next up, we have me ACTUALLY in a Tinkerbell costume. I also should point out that I wore this outfit, randomly, around the house. I was sad when it broke.

(Yes, that is a wand in my hand.)

(This is me as a cat. It took my mom FOREVER to paint my face. Or it felt like forever. I was an impatient kid. Also, notice the posing. I was a ham.)

(She-Ra, Princess of Power — probably my favorite costume ever. I had gold boots! Also, that is totally a slip made into a dress.)

(A Punk Witch! I distinctly remember this Halloween. The glasses made everything look funny, and I didn’t understand why my mom wouldn’t let me carry my cat in the basket. As part of my costume. Because that wouldn’t have been heavy. Noooo.)

(Batgirl!!!! My mom handstitched that costume, utility belt and all. This was the costume I wore to the Halloween in which No One Trick-or-Treated.)

(Clockwise, I’m Queen Mab, Scarlett O’Hara (complete with hoop skirt), a gypsy, a Flapper, and Guinevere.)

Obviously, this isn’t every Halloween. I’m missing the time I was a movie star (old school, with a fur coat that I borrowed from my grandpa. Where did he get it? I don’t know), my Geisha girl outfit, and the time I was a 1950s housewife. There were pearls.

I love the idea of being someone else for a day. I love the drama of it all. Hell, I even love all the glitter, even though it is still EVERYWHERE six months later, like sparkly beach sand. I don’t know if I have an absolute favorite costume. For different reasons, I love them all.

Of course, I also love the candy. *wink*

  1. October 29, 2011 at 12:21 am

    My best Halloween costume was when my mother begged my aunt to make me a horse costume because I begged for a horse costume and no one on the planet made horse costumes. It’s currently my Facebook picture, just for the holiday. I still want to dress as Carmen Miranda, but I’m going to have to start sewing earlier. Maybe November 1.

    Between all these memories and my horse trainer’s new baby, who they’re dressing as a monkey, I got all weepy and nostalgic and found a bunch of my son’s pictures from Halloween. Put them on Facebook, too. Cause if I’m all weepy and nostalgic, by God, you should all be, too.

  2. October 29, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    The She-Ra costume is my absolute favorite. My mom used to make my costumes too, up until middle school, when I would take my brother and sister around the neighborhood. I was “too old” for Trick-or-treating, but I would still dress up. For three years in a row, I was a zombie, and my make-up was awesome. Now I don’t really dress up, but I love buying costumes for my kids.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

