Home > advice -- not that you asked, only slightly ranty, Random Musings > Rainstorm Apocalypses: Coping and What Fresh Hell is This?

Rainstorm Apocalypses: Coping and What Fresh Hell is This?

 

It is raining outside, again. I feel like that is nature’s default, lately: rainstorm apocalypse. It’s so pretty, until I need to venture outside in it. Then, bad things happen. For instance, my dog (on his morning walk) didn’t realize that I might NOT want to chase a bird on a wet grass. I might have slipped. I did not, however, fall. (Small victories!) After coming in from walking the dog, I somehow managed to slip and bang my knee on an open cabinet door. Why was it open? I have no idea. Perhaps there is a ghost. An evil, cabinet door-opening ghost. *looks around* Right. Moving on…

After clutching my bruised knee and wounded pride, I did the only logical thing: brewed coffee and read blogs. And after that, I decided it was a good day for comfort food. I made sour cream and cheese biscuits, with mushroom gravy, from scratch. There was also turkey bacon, but that doesn’t take talent; it merely requires a microwave.

As I was finishing up the gravy, I realized that I have a tendency to cook and bake when I’m in a bad mood. I write, too, but there’s something helpful about keeping your hands busy and being productive. The house smells divine, which is a bonus.

It’s funny how coping mechanisms change over time. Now, when something’s bothering me or I’m in a randomly crappy mood — I need to do something. It doesn’t matter if I can’t change whatever’s wrong; if I am being useful in some way, I feel better. As opposed to what I used to do when I was a teenager, which was blast loud music (Jagged Little Pill, anyone?) or sulk to my very eyeteeth. All and all, I think this is a vast improvement, although I do still turn Alanis up when I’m feeling like someone has peeled back my skin with hot poker and salt. Some habits don’t really die; they fade and flare.

If you are relatively cognizant, you know that bad days happen. Rain happens. Shit happens. A lot of the time, that stuff is equal parts unfair and unavoidable. I know that the crappy things are rarely able to be controlled; most of the time, they can only be managed.

It isn’t always easy to manage the bad things. Sometimes, a rainy day is enough to wrangle all the stresses that come before it. Stress is cumulative, folks, which is why the little things add up to mountains, sometimes. And then you find yourself eating an entire pie, wondering why fork is such a funny word. (Never Been Kissed reference. Otherwise known as The Movie that Made Me Adore Michael Vartan).

…where was I? Right. Stress. It accrues like the world’s most bizarre interest rate, pulled from vast wasteland of What Fresh Hell is This? (Bonus points to anyone who can tell me who said that.) We’re often conditioned to ignore stress. Ignore what’s bothering us. Take a pill. Have a drink. (Or three.) Buy a bigger rug, since the one you’re sweeping things under is no longer serviceable.

It’s not a good way to go. Recognize your stress and your stressors. (Screw you, spellcheck. That IS a word.) Recognize it and figure out how to deal with it, from the smallest things (like a rainy, slooshy miserable day) to the largest ones (personal difficulties).

And if all else fails, stop by my house. I’ll make coffee, and we’ll talk over cake. (What? There’s ALWAYS cake. Or pie. Or brownies.)

  1. October 19, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I’d love to come over for coffee!

  2. October 19, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Food looks great!

    I hate to admit it but this kind of weather does really bring things down, no matter how much I try to distract myself from it. It also doesn’t help that this is the season when the days start getting shorter, and there is less sunlight to enjoy in general. I don’t mind the winter, but I hate it when it is 5:00 PM and dark outside.

    And thinking of a rainy day and being a teenager, the Garbage song “Only Happy When it Rains” is now stuck in my head.

    • October 20, 2011 at 8:23 am

      Sarah, thank you! And yes, the weather is kind of a downer. I hate that the days get shorter. It’s no fun at all. I have a line from The Crow stuck in my head — it can’t rain all the time. 🙂 Thank you for reading and commenting!!

  3. October 19, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    You just made my yogurt feel inadequate. The biscuits look yummy! The only way your plate could be more southern is if you fried pork bacon in a cast iron skillet, then fried the biscuits in the drippings.
    I hate the rainy days, too. Especially when my son has football practice. Not only do I have to go sit in it for two hours, but then I have to wash muddy white football clothes. Yuck! I need more coffee. And maybe I’ll try some Alanis. Good post!

    • October 20, 2011 at 8:32 am

      Hehe, Adrienne — you crack me up. I would’ve used bacon grease, except the I rarely use regular bacon anymore. But I *do* have a cast iron skillet. And one for cornbread. I love cast iron.

      Ugh, football practice and rain are a pain in the butt! The uniforms are so tough to clean. I think Alanis will definitely help. 🙂

  4. October 20, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Hello, Alison! I’m just dropping in to let you know that you have a new award! Check my blog for details:
    http://www.colindsmith.com/blog/2011/10/20/dont-hate-me-because-im-beautiful/

    • October 20, 2011 at 9:11 am

      Thank you, Colin! I’m honored. 🙂

  5. October 20, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Can I just say for the billionth time that if I lived near you it would mean bad things for my waistline? That food looks delicious! And good for you for recognizing when you’re stressed and turning that negative energy into something positive. Most of the time I just wind up watching TV and drinking wine. Which, I think, might be frowned upon? *grin*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

