Home > prose > Of Rainfalls and Change

Of Rainfalls and Change

 

The world has begun to change, again. The hours stretch out strangely, until I hardly recognize them. The light falls differently, lingering in old instants, where it once disappeared. Somewhere, a bird calls to another, but the rest is silence, save for the soft falling of rain.

That’s it. That’s what keeps me, now. The quiet caress of water on the earth, a storm cloud that empties itself of life, and hardly anyone notices. The inconvenience of it, the slick road and damp shoes, is remarked on – but what about the beauty of it? The smell of rain is one of dirt and magic, full of its own fleeting scent. It is one of possibility and change. And yet, in the midst of a day, we often overlook the miracle. We fail to see the sparkle in a single drop, in the way it glistens on a spider’s web.

(Except today. Except now. )

The air has turned its face to colder moments. Sweaters have been removed from boxes. Rain boots have been retrieved from the corner of the closet where they’d been banished. Firewood is gathered. Hot chocolate sought out. It is the beginning of a more trying season, one of snow that falls in silence.

(But forget tomorrow. Remember today.)

In the distance, the leaves have burst like fireworks, but the transformation isn’t whole yet. Gold, orange, and red against the green – a reminder. A beacon. A transitory marker for that which has come before it. Summer’s final flourish. Its goodbye heralded in the arms of branches.

It is a perfect offering of beauty.

Categories: prose
  1. October 12, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Love, love, love this post, Ali.

    This will sound cheesy, but ever since Lloyd (John Cusack’s character in the movie Say Anything) suggested that the rain being like a baptism, I often think of the rain as just that . . . a baptism, a fresh start.

    “Like a baptism, it felt as if the rain were washing away all my thoughts and attitudes that no longer served my highest good. I could sense that from now on, I would be living more from my heart center and a place of utter joy.” – Cindy Lowy Fess.

    • October 14, 2011 at 7:58 am

      Blake, I LOVE Say Anything, so that is absolutely perfect. And now, curiously, I seem to have “Your Eyes” stuck in my head. *grin* Seriously, though — thank you for the lovely quote! 🙂 I’m really glad that you enjoyed this post. 🙂

  2. October 12, 2011 at 9:50 am

    I love this post. So beautifully written. I absolutely love fall and rain so this made me smile 🙂 xxx

    • October 14, 2011 at 7:59 am

      Anne-Marie!!! *tackles with a hug* Thank you, chica. I’m really pleased that you like this. 🙂 xoxo

  3. October 12, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Gosh, wow, that is beautiful – it always impresses me when people can write such lovely prose – you are very lucky to have a talent for expressing yourself so well through words. stunning.

    • October 14, 2011 at 8:00 am

      Nemo, thank you so much for your kind words — and welcome to my blog!! I’m really happy that you enjoyed this post. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. 🙂

  4. October 12, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Beautifully written, I kind of like rain, it is preferable to snow, or extreme heat and humidity. On a rainy weekend there are no feelings of guilt about staying inside and not doing things outdoors.

    • October 14, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Sarah, I do like the rain, too — and it is definitely preferably to snow. On a weekend, I love being able to stay inside, drink something warm (usually coffee) and read or write. It’s a perfect atmosphere. 🙂

  5. October 15, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I love this post Ali! This time of year always revitalizes me while at the same time making me itch and yearn for changes. Bring on the sweaters and the apple cider, says I! *grin*

    • October 16, 2011 at 8:08 am

      I’m already wearing a sweater — and apple cider will be SOON. Thanks to you, I am addicted to it. *grin*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

