Home > Poetry, Random Musings > One by One

One by One

 

The world is a circus made
of blue and green, crowds
leaning in, lying through my last lover’s eyes,
singing the words to a song
he said he’d forgotten,
but some things, baby,
never leave your smile.

I watch them
as they line up one by one,
the drive-by friends, the Sunday morning
heartbeats, breakfast on the run,
the wedding rings,
the not-so-simple things,
hope wrapped up in unfamiliar arms,
and you just close your eyes and dive in –

but it all comes down too quickly,
the circus tent,
the words you said,
the words you meant,
the goodbyes,
the don’t cries,
the I’ll see you before you know its.

One by one, the promises
turn to sand, slipping out of a broken hour glass,
desire never meant to last,
that’s when the songs turn to silence, girl,
that’s how you know what it never was,
lies dancing too close to love,
some things, they always burn
that’s the last true thing you said to me.

But there are ten thousand of them, baby,
And only one of me.
I tried to save you once,
I tried to reach you –
but it never was us,
it was always you,
it was always me,
and even as the days go by
one by one,
I miss the you
that might’ve loved me.

  1. October 3, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Beautiful.

    • October 3, 2011 at 10:25 pm

      Thank you, Ana! I’m glad that you enjoyed this. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

