Home > giving thanks where it's due, things that are awesome > All Night Noise: Matt Nathanson and the Night of Awesome

All Night Noise: Matt Nathanson and the Night of Awesome

I don’t know what it is about music that seems to breathe underneath my skin. It is, as others have said, poetry set to music. A good song takes a moment (often times, a feeling too) and snatches it out of time. It is a forever feeling, for better or worse.

About six years ago, I discovered Matt Nathanson. I don’t even remember how, but it was a wonderful, accidental miracle. But since then, his songs have always held me, resonating in me. Whether he’s singing about a lost love, a particular heartbreak, or how beautiful it is to fall in love – his songs conjure up memories, people, moments, gains, losses, and loves from my own life.

Whether it’s Come On Get Higher or Modern Love, when Matt sings – you feel it. I know I do. And now I can happily say that I’ve seen him live (with Vanessa Carlton, who was awesome!). It was probably the best concert I’ve been to, and a day later, I’m still in a post-awesomeness daze.

I don’t think I can do the experience justice. I can tell you that he did an impression of Celine Dion that made me laugh so hard that my face hurt. I can tell you that when he sang Room @ the End of the World, the lyrics touched me in a way I hadn’t felt before.

I can say that he covered Cee Lo Green, White Snake, and Simon and Garfunkel. That not only did he own the stage, but that the music seemed to be a tangible part of him. I can mention that All We Are hits a note in my heart that’s been well-buried for a long time – and that Mercy makes me want to misbehave a little bit.

But that won’t translate the experience for you. It won’t show you the stage, the absolutely oneness of the crowd, or the almost transcendent quality of the music. (So, you should definitely go see him on tour if you can. You won’t be sorry. I promise.) For me, the memory of it is enough. Plus, I’ve got an awesome t-shirt and had a great time with my fabulous cousin.

After the show, there was an opportunity to meet with Matt. I’m not above admitting that I’ve got a crush on Matt. He seems like a fun guy. He plays music and writes deep lyrics. He makes me laugh. And I’m willing to bet he has a tattoo. He’s cute. So sue me. ANYWAY, my cousin and I decided not to wait in the ginormous line. I wouldn’t have known what to say, except “you’re awesome – thank you for an amazing show.”

Next time he’s in town, you’ll find me there, dancing and singing along. Especially to Queen of K(nots), which is a song “for everyone who thought they signed up for one thing and ended up with a rollercoaster of fucked up.” And who can’t relate to that?

  1. Craig
    October 2, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    It was an amazing show last nigtht! Thanks for sharing your experience! I actually waited in that ginormous line to meet Matt (my second time actually, I met him last year at his Tin Angel Show.) What constantly amazes me about him is that as genuine and amazing as his music is, his desire to meet every single fan, talk with them, share a hug, handshake or take a picture with them to me is what makes him such an amazing act. His music will touch your soul and the fact that he is willing to actually reach out and touch his fans is something that you don’t find too often in music today.

    • October 2, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      Craig, thank you so much for taking the time to comment! It was such a great show, and it’s nice to hear that Matt is as nice as he seems. It shows in the way he performs, too — definitely connects with the audience.

      Again, thanks for commenting!!! 🙂

  2. October 3, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Sounds like I missed something special! Thanks for sharing!!

    • October 3, 2011 at 10:11 am

      Ana, the concert was so amazing. If he comes to play by you, I think you’d enjoy seeing him perform live. Thank you so much for reading and commenting!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

