Home > Poetry > The Girl Who Played with Fire

The Girl Who Played with Fire

Janet Reid, agent and shark extraordinaire, is having a contest on her blog. I believe it closes tomorrow. Using books that you own, you have to write a poem, adding a couple of words to each line; each line MUST contain a book title, and you must email in a photo of the stack of books you used.

This was, in a word, FUN. Below is my entry. I am officially encouraging you to send in your own entry. *brandishes cattle prod*

The Girl Who Played with Fire

Your BIRTHDAY LETTERS leave me NUMB,
a side-effect of THE HUNGER GAMES
we once played; you were the BREAD GIVER,
and I, the LOVER OF UNREASON, transformed
into a reluctant WOMAN WARRIOR,
clutching a BURNT DIARY made of STARDUST
and WINTER POLLLEN.

(A GOOD OMEN is not
the same as a BLOOD PROMISE.)

This is a GHOST STORY, a GRAVEYARD BOOK,
a reminder that THE DEAD TRAVEL FAST,
and our love is FULL DARK, NO STARS,
a FARMING OF BONES
on a FAULT LINE, empty promises
ringing like THE LAUGHTER OF FOXES.

It’s A LONG WAY DOWN. I’ve heard
the STORIES. I know
WHERE SHADOWS DANCE and that
these LETTERS HOME are not PROOF
of love IN THE TIME OF BUTTERFLIES;
this marriage is no HOUSE OF MIRTH.

We swim in a WIDE SARGASSO SEA,
foolish as THE GIRL WHO KICKED THE HORNET’S NEST,
lingering in the NEVERWHERE, lost like ALICE IN WONDERLAND.
Yes, ours is a DARK ROAD TO DARJEELING,
but despite this CITY OF BONES
THE YEAR OF MAGICAL THINKING is over,
and I must PLAY IT AS IT LAYS.

Categories: Poetry
  1. Blake
    September 17, 2011 at 7:56 am

    Ali, that is BRILLIANT!! I’m also tickled by the fact that I have read many of the books you mentioned. πŸ™‚ Best of luck in the contest. Truly brilliant. πŸ™‚

    • Ali
      September 17, 2011 at 10:36 am

      Blake — thank you SO much! I’m really glad that you liked this. πŸ™‚ And yay for having read a lot of the same books! πŸ™‚ Oh, and thank you for the retweet on twitter! πŸ™‚

  2. September 17, 2011 at 10:43 am

    MIssy, I hope you ALSO sent the picture of your books stacked up! The Shark requires it.

    • Ali
      September 17, 2011 at 10:51 am

      I did! It wasn’t easy to stack up that many damn books. lol

  3. September 17, 2011 at 11:25 am

    OMG I LOVE IT. And I think you should totally post your book-stack picture here on your blog so we can all marvel at it. While I doubt I have time to actually enter the contest myself, I may use this idea with my creative writing students. We’re beginning our poetry unit right now. *grin*

    • Ali
      September 20, 2011 at 12:54 pm

      Andrea — you are so sweet! Thank you. I will add the picture in a bit. And think this would go over well with your students! πŸ™‚

  4. September 17, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    i’m reading that book now!

    • Ali
      September 20, 2011 at 12:54 pm

      I loved the entire series! πŸ™‚

  5. Jessica
    September 20, 2011 at 11:33 am

    THIS IS BRILLIANT! Count me among those who want to see the photo of the stacked books.

    • Ali
      September 20, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      Jessica, you are awesome. Seriously — thank you! I will add the picture in a bit. πŸ™‚

  6. September 20, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Holy mother of pearl, this is GORGEOUS writing. *stands, applauds*

    • Ali
      September 20, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      *blush* Thank you very much, Patty!!! πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

