Home > recipes > Squash Soup Recipe

Squash Soup Recipe

I’ll be honest: this turned out to be a (tasty) hodgepodge recipe. When I started to make it, I thought I had more squash than I did. Since it’s SQUASH soup, I assumed it’d be mostly squash. I probably should call this something else, but Hodgepodge soup doesn’t conjure up an appealing (or appetizing) pictures.

Anyway, here are the ingredients:

  1. Three large squash, peeled and diced
  2. Five potatoes, cleaned and diced (NOT peeled — that’s where all the good stuff is)
  3. 4 stalks of celery, chopped
  4. About 4-5 onions sliced
  5. About 6 cups of chicken broth (possibly more, depending on desired consistency)
  6. Two cups 2% milk
  7. 1 cup half and half
  8. Nutmeg
  9. Sour cream (to taste)
  10. Pepper, to taste
  11. Maple syrup to taste
  • In the microwave, I precooked every vegetable until tender. I normally will boil them in a pot, but I was pressed for time.
  • In blender, blend vegetables (in batches) with the chicken broth; once blended, put in pot
  • Add about a tablespoon of nutmeg to pot, which should be on high
  • Once the soup starts to bubble, add maple syrup (to taste), milk, and half and half. You can add more nutmeg if you want. Pepper to taste.
  • Once it starts to bubble, again, add about three dollops of sour cream. Stir until dissolved

Ta-da! That’s it. You can also leave a few potatoes in chunks, if you like a chunkier soup. Bacon, turkey or otherwise, would go pretty well in it.

Categories: recipes
  1. September 11, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    That sounds amazing. The last time I tried to make a soup that involved blending, though, it most definitely did not taste like soup.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

