Adventures Afoot: Canada

It was almost the trip that wasn’t. My initial flight was canceled. My subsequent flight was delayed. I landed in Quebec somewhat zombie-like and delirious. But from then on, it was the trip of Awesomeness. I went to visit my dear friend Liz, who is a talented artist/graphic designer and kickass person.

Since this was my first trip to Canada, I feel as if I should dispel some rumors. Ready? Okay.

  1. Moose do not run rampant down Canadian streets. Shocking, I know.
  2. Mounties are not hanging out on every street corner. None of the cops resembled the guy from Northern Exposure. ETA: I meant Due South. Forgive me. I still have massage-brain. *wink*
  3. No one laughed at my pathetic and broken French. Although, all I could think of was the episode of Friends where Phoebe tries to teach Joey French. *giggle*

In all seriousness, though, I had such a wonderful time in Quebec. Everyone was so wonderful and welcoming. Liz’s family was fantastic. And I may have threatened to adopt all of her pets. SO CUTE. *ahem* Okay, Elmyra moment over. For now.

I finally had Tim Horton‘s coffee. I (honest-to-Java) had Maple Syrup from a glass bottle in the shape of a Maple Leaf. Liz SWEARS they don’t always use that kind, but I am disinclined to believe her, eh? There was sight-seeing and lots of laughing. I had bubble tea, which is amazing. Some guy tried to kill us with his bicycle, but it’s all good.

It was an excellent trip, and I’m very glad to have been able to spent time with my friend — and her lovely family. More stories to follow in the coming days. For now, I need more coffee….

  1. Jessica
    August 30, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Very disappointed about the whole moose thing.

    • Ali
      August 30, 2011 at 11:03 am

      Me too! There should be moose on every street corner! 😉

  2. August 30, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Are you sure you meant Northern Exposure? That was Alaska, not Canada. Maybe you were thinking Paul Gross as the Mountie in Due South.

    • Ali
      August 30, 2011 at 11:04 am

      ACK! You’re right. I meant Due South. I have jetlag brain. It’s totally a thing, I swear. *grin* Thanks, Hank!

  3. August 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Don’t tell my son about the moose thing. He’s saving up to visit Canada just to see the moose. And I’m sorry about the whole Northern Exposure thing. Canada or Alaska, I kind of expected Canadian guys to either look like Rob Morrow or John Corbett. Unfortunately, I know differently – I have a friend who lives in British Columbia. He looks like Santa Claus.

    Oh, and welcome back!

    • Ali
      August 31, 2011 at 8:04 am

      There are moose there, just not in the province/area I was in. And I totally laughed out loud, about Rob Morrow (swoon) vs Santa Claus. hehe Thanks, Gayle!!

  4. Liz
    September 1, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I really need to be more diligent with WordPress (as I spam your entire site, right now….)

    And I’ll prove the maple syrup thing.. I’ll send you the can we USUALLY eat it from hahahaha… And again, it was fantastic to see you.

    • Ali
      September 1, 2011 at 11:03 am

      It was AWESOME to see you!! I had such a blast. *grin* Also, I choose to believe that all syrup lives in the Maple Leaf bottles. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

