Home > Poetry > From the River He Speaks

From the River He Speaks

 

I wait. It is what I do.
It’s never for very long.
Moments, really. Then, I am summoned
again – my duty’s certain,
finite yet infinite.

You will find me in the dark.
You will wait upon the shores.
I will appear
out of the mists. You might
find a scream uncurling in your throat.
Many do.

There is nothing to fear.
What’s done is done,
and there’s only one journey left.
Face it bravely, or do not.
You must face it. That is all.

When I reach out, hand over the coin.
A danake, perhaps. A penny.
It doesn’t matter. What use
have for mortal things?
It is just the principal, really.

I hope the boat won’t frighten you.
It looks old, and let me assure you –
it is. But it is sturdy enough.
Pay no mind to the way it creaks.
Pay no mind to the lapping of the water.
It will only drive you mad.

Come, come.
It will be quick. Acheron’s current
runs swiftly. You are dead already.
Surely you knew that.

I wait. I will always be waiting.

Categories: Poetry
  1. August 16, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    HUZZAH! Any poem referencing Greek mythology is a poem I can get behind.

    • Ali
      August 18, 2011 at 8:24 am

      *grin* I really liked this piece, but like you…anything referencing Greek mythology = win!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

