Home > too hot to move > Somewhere Between Hell and the Surface of the Sun

Somewhere Between Hell and the Surface of the Sun

 

It is so effin’ hot out. Eloquent, I know. But it’s true. It’s not hot. It’s effin’ hot. When walking to the mailbox, the car, or to take the dog out is this much of a challenge, I get cranky. The heat index is somewhere between Hell and the Surface of the Sun. Even in the air conditioning, I feel as if I can’t cool off. I’ve just made iced coffee, and I put some in the freezer for later (to eat as a coffee icee). It is tasty and procured from the lovely thestrangebrew.net — which has (honest to java) the best coffee I’ve ever had. I’m currently drinking sticky bun flavored coffee, and it’s liquid nirvana.

*ahem* But back to the appalling heat. I’m melting. Worse yet, the animals are wearing fur coats and must be treated accordingly. That means hosing the horse down and making sure the critters are properly cooled off. It also means watering the vegetable garden a bit extra, as well as the fig trees.

Last week, I had a conversation about the heat. This week is worse, mind you, but last week wasn’t exactly a temperature-based bit of bliss. I mentioned that it was getting too hot for me, and the person shot back, “What does it matter? We spend most of our time indoors, anyway.”

*blink* We DO? She might. But I don’t. Granted, I try to spend as much time inside as possible, but that doesn’t mean I never leave the house — or don’t have outside chores. I doubt my dog would appreciation a lack of walking, simply because the black top has begun to ooze like a Dali painting.

Of course, I realize I am spoiled. What did people DO before air conditioning? Fans only accomplish so much. And it isn’t really practical to call out sick to work, only to lounge in the pool, fruity drink in hand.

Today, I will not be cooking. I will probably nuke some turkey bacon on my neat little bacon tray, it will be sandwiches for dinner. Add some nice lettuce and tomato, and voila! Perfection on a too-hot-to-cook summer day.

What are your favorite ways to combat the heat?

  1. July 21, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Between Hell and the Surface of the Sun is right! The heat index here in Nashville may reach 107 degrees today and the heat advisory has been extended to 7:00 p.m. tomorrow. When I stepped outside last night at 9:30 p.m., it felt like I had opened an oven door!

    Sometimes, I wrap a cool, damp bandana around my neck when doing outdoor chores. I also make sure my kids and I dress in light colored fabrics if/when we are going to be outside for an extended amount of time. We also tote our reusable water bottles with us. Gotta stay hydrated!! It’s no use seeking relief at the neighborhood pool. It is warmer than bath water right now.

    Cooking is the last thing I want to do when it’s this hot outside. If only my family liked gazpacho, or cold soup in general, that would make a nice alternative to the sandwiches and salads we’ve been eating.

    • Ali
      July 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm

      It DOES feel like opening an oven door, even that late at night! It’s crazy. Whenever I can, I’ll soak my hair in cold water, and put a cold bandana on my head. That really does help. Staying hydrated is a must!

      I wish my family liked cold soups. I’m not a big fan, but I have tried many of them. I feel like I should work on that. 🙂 Thank you very much for reading and commenting!!

  2. Jessica
    July 21, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Any Heat Wave that does not involve Nathan Fillion is not okay with me. Apparently 22 people have already died.

    In weather like this, I like to try to stay inside, or at the beach where I can make a running jump into the ocean when I finally can’t stand the temperatures any longer. It’s been so hot lately that I haven’t been able to walk on the sand without shoes because it has been SO HOT.

    • Ali
      July 21, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      Agreed — especially about Nathan Fillion! *grin* Also, I would totally kill to go to the beach. Well, not literally…but beach = lovely idea. With flip flops.

  3. July 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Cold borshch comes to mind.

    • Ali
      July 21, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      Is there a vegetarian version of that? I’d really love to try and make it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

