Home > Poetry, Writing > Believe Me

Believe Me

I sound wiser than I am, returning
wisdom to the world
one word at a time; it’s all stolen madness,
nothing more than a secret smile
that says believe me.
(You really shouldn’t believe me.)

I took every word
out of my veins. I used my teeth,
and carefully pulled – it was not magic,
just necessity. I had to get it out,
purge myself of things
better left to shadow. I would’ve done anything.
(You really shouldn’t believe me.)

I asked for forgiveness, quietly, eyes
downcast; I’ve heard it’s better
to ask forgiveness than permission. Few people
grant freedom, and that is what I needed.
What did you need? I wonder, still.
I pretend not to care. I sacrifice my best smile
for the cause.
(You really shouldn’t believe me.)

I sound wiser than I am –
but you won’t listen; you don’t
understand me, or the fact
that I hide everything I can; I dance,
but only so you see that I’m okay.
I sing, but only so you hear
that I still have a voice. I pretend
to the limits of this stage –
believe me
(we both know that you will).

It’s easier that way.

Categories: Poetry, Writing
  1. Alicia Marie Phillips
    July 20, 2011 at 8:43 am

    +1

    • Ali
      July 20, 2011 at 8:50 am

      I added a Google+ button just for you, Alicia. 🙂

  2. Josh A. Kruschke
    July 20, 2011 at 10:06 am

    But with a smiles like the one shown in the profile pics;

    How could we mere mortal men not, but help to be, taken in every last word as if it were our last chance to hear such sweet words of wisdom? Tis not our fault that we should fall prey to such a lovely smile. We men be of such simple minds that we can’t but help fall under the spell of such a bewitching glance or a coy look.

    Take pity and do not look unkindly on us.

  3. July 20, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Oooo, scandalous! Love it as always Ali!

    • Ali
      July 21, 2011 at 3:50 pm

      *grin* Thank you!!

  4. Josh A. Kruschke
    July 20, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    But with a smile like the one shown….

    How could we mere mortal men not take in every last word as if it were our last chance to breathe in such sweet words of wisdom? Tis not our fault that we should drown in such a lovely smile. We men be of such simple minds that we can’t help but be pulled under by the weight of such a bewitching glance or a coy look.

    Take pity and do not look unkindly on us, for tis not our fault that the smile pulls us under.

    • Ali
      July 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm

      Thank you for the kind words. Just so you know, this piece is a work of fiction. It’s not autobiographical. But since it felt real to you, that means I did something right! 🙂 Thanks!

  5. Josh A. Kruschke
    July 21, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    I guess I should of figured out an even more generic opening, but it works with out the confusion of the first draft; I think. I new messed up in the first draft; take and using an example out side your peace. (but with a smile like yours how could it not be helped?) In the second draft the smile shown was supposed to reference, “I sacrifice my best smile to the cause.” To bring it back to within the piece.

    When I first read the piece, I thought what would the You’s response be if he (my point of view as the reader. No gender was implied.) new he couln’t follow your advice of “You really shouldn’t believe me.” And he too new that, “we both know that you will.”

    And this response is what popped into my head. An excuse, a justification and asking of understanding.

    I just felt there was a second side of this story that needed to be told. My response is now yours so do with it as you will. I turn copy right over to you, this way both pieces stay together and maybe you can use it and turn my amateurish work onto something.

    🙂
    Josh

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

