Home > only slightly ranty > Poison Ivy is Evil (No, Not You, Uma)

Poison Ivy is Evil (No, Not You, Uma)

So, it appears that I have poison ivy. I’ve never had it before, and let me assure you: it is TERRIBLE. Thankfully, I am not a giant swollen mess — it’s not so bad that I need a shot or anything. But holy mother of torture — I am ITCHY. I am also covered in calamine lotion, which looks like a three year old painted in on with her fingers. I am desperate for relief. I just want to SCRATCH. I know that’s wrong, so we’re a step up from when I got the chicken pox when I was a kid (I got them TWICE. Apparently, my immune system decided that my first case was too mild to build up a resistance. Charming, eh?)

I do not do well with itchy things. I had an eardrum burst as a child. It hurt like a bitch. (Worst pain ever.) I handled it well. It’s a very vivid memory, because it hurt so much AND it was disgusting. Trust me. But this? I want to claw off my collarbone, legs, and arms.

Clearly, this is a sign that I should never do yard work again. EVER. Mwahaha! I mean…*wink*

In all fairness, there’s also a possibly that this is a reaction to an antibiotic I’ve been on (although, it would’ve taken four weeks to happen, so I don’t think so). The last time I had a reaction to an antibiotic, it was quite different (my tongue grew fuzzy and black; I looked like death. I was..five?). So, I put a call in to my MD, and off I go later.

How is everyone else’s Monday going? Because I want to go back to be and have it be Saturday of LAST week. Please?

  1. July 18, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Hi Ali,

    Sorry to hear about the poison ivy. Try a mix of baking soda and white vinegar. make a paste and smear it on.

    How’s everything else been? What’s next in in the writing world for you?

    All the Best,

    Doug

  2. July 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Maybe you should duct tape oven mitts to your hands à la Phoebe and her navy boyfriend. *grin*

    In all seriousness, that SUCKS. Having never had poison ivy, I can’t relate from experience but I imagine it’s awful. Hopefully the doctor can give you some advice. Keep me posted!

  3. July 18, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    That sounds terrible, I’ve never gotten poison ivy, though every time I do any yard work my hands get swollen and itchy. I really need some gardening gloves I swear. Hope you feel better soon. Also Aveeno has a soothing oatmeal bath and a oatmeal soap that I’ve heard helps with the itchiness.

  4. Jessica
    July 19, 2011 at 8:54 am

    I’ve never had poison ivy, but I have had chicken pox, and for that my mom made me sit in oatmeal baths all the time so I wouldn’t scratch. Feel better soon!

    • Ali
      July 20, 2011 at 8:48 am

      I considered oatmeal bathes (same for me, for the chicken pox), but they gross me out. I don’t know why. I think that in my twisted childhood memory, it reminds me of the bathtub sludge from the Ghostbuster’s movie. I have no logical reason for that. lol

      • Jessica
        July 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

        I can understand the gross factor, I remember it being kind of clumpy and strange. I always wanted it to make bubbles. Haha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

