The Week of Crazy

My BF is getting married on Sunday. There are lots of things going on this week. I’m not sure I regained the sleep I lost to Atlantic City on Friday/Saturday (it was worth it). I feel like a slow-thinking, knuckle-dragging zombie right now. Without coffee, I think I’d slip right back into unconsciousness.

Today, BF and I pick up our altered dresses. I’ve got dinner plans tonight. Tomorrow, off to run errands and various appointments. Thursday, getting nails done with BF and her sister. Friday — packing, planning, and the last minute panic things.

Saturday, drive to shore. Rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. Attempt sleep, which means BF and I will be up the entire night. Sunday, BF gets married. (Maweed, if you want to quote Long Duk Dong. Or Mawidge, if you want to quote the priest from The Princess Bride.)

I’m giving a toast, which I wrote the other day. I’ve never given a toast before. I’ve introduced professors and fellow students who were presenting their papers. I tend to make jokes. I also tend to feel like my throat has been inhabited by the Sierra.

So, I was a little worried about the speech, since it’s not my usual thing. I, apparently, have done an excellent job. How do I know that? Well, it made my mother cry. Stamp of approval: mom tears. (That is something only a writer can say, yes? Or a sadist. I’m not the Marquis, I promise.)

I feel like BF only got engaged yesterday. It was, for many reasons, a really great day. I’m so proud of her and happy for her. I’m also a little vklempt. My little girl’s all grown up! We’ve been through a lot together. See, blackmail. We’ve had crazy adventures. See, oh my god — what are we doing? We have always been there for each other. See, you mess with her — you mess with me. It’ll always be that way. Now, I just have an honorary brother-in-law. Total WIN.

There will be pictures from the Wedding. My toast will be on video. This will be a hell of a lot of fun. See you folks on the flipside.

  1. Bit
    June 7, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Mawidge. ROFL.

    Sounds like tons of busy, crazy, fantastic fun. I’m sure it’ll be wonderful; nothing screams, “Success!” quite like Mom-Tears. Hehe. Have a lovely time! 😀

  2. June 8, 2011 at 10:20 am

    HURRAY, what a fun week you have planned! I’m sure with you as the maid-of-honor, everything will go off without a hitch. Take LOTS o’pictures; I can’t wait to see and hear everything! We’ll have to setup a chat date for sometime next week so you can fill me in on all the details.

  3. Jessica
    June 22, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Your toast-validation reminds me of my sisters’ and my Mother’s Day contest – whoever had the card that made mom cry the MOST wins.

    Where at the shore was the wedding?

  1. June 22, 2011 at 12:23 am

Leave a Reply

