Home > only slightly ranty, Random Musings > A Big Old Dose of Huh?

A Big Old Dose of Huh?

 

Most of the time, I’m that person. You know, the one who gets stuff done – who will get the turkey, because no one else wants to. I’ll bandage the horse’s tail, because he has an infection, and it looks like you’d expect from an infected tail: there are maggots. (I really wish that last one was a joke. Thankfully, that was over ten years ago. He recovered, fully.) I’ll do holidays, go shopping, make phone calls, schedule appointments, and generally Get It Done. And, no, I don’t know why I capitalized that, expect that I need more coffee. Desperately. STAT.

 Whenever I had to do group projects for class (even in grad school, gods save us all), I was the one who ended up doing the organizing, writing whatever part the Group Slacker forgot to do, and taking the proverbial bullet. I’m not a martyr. I’m not perfect. I’m just the person who steps up.

 It can be kind of exhausting, but that’s life. That’s being an adult. Five-by-five.

However, I’ve always had issues with people who take undo credit. Back in college, I once had a friend who created drama over and over again – just so she could swoop in and save the day. Never mind that the day would’ve been just fine, if she hadn’t muddled things in the first place. It was a habitual thing, and I was slightly relieved when we drifted apart. (Is that shallow? Bad? Am I not supposed to admit that? Er, oops.)

This morning, I had a rather surreal conversation. It went something like this.

Person A: This [Insert random thing here, involving phone calls, flaming hoops, and having to juggle clowns] needs to be done. (This is something I already knew needed to be done.)
Me: Okay. [Makes phone calls, braves the flaming hoops, and juggles the scary clowns] (Did I mention I hate clowns? Yeah, it’s kind of thing with me.) Alright, it’s done!
Person A: Yay, teamwork!
Me: …

Call me Ishmael crazy, but that’s not team work. That’s just shirking responsibility and dumping it into my lap.

I see that kind of thing happen all the time. People are unwilling to step up to the plate, and the responsibility falls to someone else. I don’t care for it. I don’t think it helps things. I think that we often need to do the exact thing that scares us. It helps us to be better. To grow. To be able to make the tough decisions and choices.

I know that this doesn’t happen to just me. And I’m not trying to posit myself as the paradigm of goodness or any such nonsense. This is me, ranting a bit. In the grand scheme of things, nothing will change. People are who they are, and it’s not likely that spontaneous maturation is going to occur.

Things like this make me realize who I am and who other people are. Sometimes, that makes life a little easier to handle – when you know where you stand, and who will run away (like Brave Sir Robin) whenever the mood strikes.

  1. April 27, 2011 at 10:47 am

    hehe. Yes, some people seem to mistake being a player on the team (getting stuff done) for being the coach (calling the play.)

    Maybe next time you should reply with, “Yep, great job, Coach.” Or “Thanks for warming the bench while I made the play.”
    %-)

    • Ali
      April 28, 2011 at 8:13 am

      Luann, that’s probably a very good idea. *grin* Thanks!

  2. April 27, 2011 at 10:57 am

    You should have replied – ‘No, not teamwork. More like army of one.’

    • Ali
      April 28, 2011 at 8:13 am

      Ohhh, I’m totally stealing that. 🙂

  3. April 27, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Sigh, this takes all the fun out of taking credit for work that my loyal minions accomplish, though! :-p Ha, funny how your friend tried to make it sound like a combined effort.

    • Ali
      April 28, 2011 at 8:14 am

      Wait, *I* want minions! Why does everyone else have minions? *grin*

  4. Meril_ya
    April 29, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    I just read somewhere that if a person does more work than others (coworkers), that person is generally disliked. Cuz it makes them look bad, I guess…
    this is really too bad for some of us who dislike sitting around and gossiping (gasp, they do that at work???)
    Ha, Ha, hope y’all forgive my little rant

    • Ali
      April 29, 2011 at 4:00 pm

      To me, that seems like a strange things. If things don’t get done, bad stuff happens. But what do I know? 😉 No worries about the rant. Thanks for commenting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

