Home > Writing > I Have Writer ADD

I Have Writer ADD

 

Today is supposed to be warm. Not just a little warm. 82 degrees and SUNNY. If this comes to pass, I will be the happiest person ever.

A skirt and new shoes are called for here, which is good because I bought new shoes on Saturday. Born shoes, which are my favorite. They are cute AND comfortable. Basically, the perfect shoe.

But this post? Not about shoes. I’m taking myself to Starbucks today. I am going to sit outside. And I’m going to rewrite the hell out of Devil in the Details.

For some reason, I’ve had the attention span of a gnat amped out on crack, lately. A few minutes ago, I made a character outline for a new novel. A novel based on a short story I wrote that I love. I rarely ever say that. But I love it. I do.

The character reminds me ever-so-slightly of Buffy, which is always genius. There’s a little magic. A little mayhem. Some really messed up gods. Oh, and a monkey.

I’m kidding about that last part.

So, I have a few plot holes to fill in. And I really feel like I need to learn Old Norse, now, since it would probably help the story. However, this will have to wait until AFTER Devil in the Details is finally in the can. Again. Since it is the novel that I can’t stop picking at. Or, in this case, hacking up with a machete made of words.

I’ve taken out a lot. The story is better for it. It is. BUT IT HURTS.

It’s back to the grindstone, right now. This very moment. I don’t suppose another cup of coffee would hurt. Don’t you think?

Alright, FINE. I’m going. Happy writing/rewriting/revising, folks!

  1. Andrea
    April 11, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    HURRAY for writing in a Starbucks!!!! And new shoes too?! Could your week BE any better (said in the voice of Chandler Bing). 🙂

    • Ali
      April 12, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      Ha! It was an interesting outing. I think I might’ve gotten a blog entry or two out of it.

  2. April 12, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Aw, and I was really excited about the monkey. Make sure you add some car chases and explosions. People like explosions. Also vampires. LOL

  3. Ali
    April 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I will write in a vampire that SPARKLES! Then I’ll add a Slayer. *snicker*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

