Home > Random Musings, Stories from Childhood > My Grandmother’s Gift (Edited to include the funniest thing EVER)

My Grandmother’s Gift (Edited to include the funniest thing EVER)

 

Since I’ve been inundating you with poetry (it’s April, people!), I think I owe you a story.

Here is it.

My grandmother could cook anything. Potato pancakes, rainbow cookies, pizza gain – you name it. She made it. She was Italian through and through.

This past weekend, I acquired two things from the house that belonged to my grandparents: a beautiful mahogany nightstand and my grandmother’s recipe box.

I can’t even tell you how excited I am. For one thing, there are so many recipes for things that I love. Also, things that I can’t pronounce. Some of it is in Italian. (I should point out that while I know some Italian words, I don’t write in Italian. For years, I didn’t know that basilico was basil. My grandmother would send me out into her garden, and I didn’t even know what I was picking.)

There are many things that I’d been missing that my grandmother used to make. I don’t know how to spell them. I only know the Italian names, so I’m going to root through the box and hope I get lucky.

Do you feel lucky, punk? Well, do ya?

I hope so. I’m looking for something that I think is called pizza gran. I should tell you that it’s not an easy recipe, and I’m slightly terrified that I will screw it up. But things like this – cooking, baking – the remind me of my grandma. Then I am reminded of my grandfather, who used to constantly my aunt, “Can you cook [whatever] like your mother did?”

She might not have been able to imitate my grandmother, but I can. I like to think that it’s a way to remember my grandmother. It’s something that lasts.

When I make the pizza gran, I’ll post a picture, and I’ll let you know if I botch things up.

Do you have any family recipes you adore? What’s something from your childhood that you miss?

ETA: We (Okay, I) interrupt this blog to bring you something funny. Tucked between the pages, is this gem (I dare you NOT to laugh — especially if you’re on Twitter and witnessed a certain Epic Implosion):

  1. April 5, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    “Scott Baio’s Ricotta Puffs” is *so* the name of my next band.

    • Ali
      April 5, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      Ha! Nice one. Now, if you could only talk Chachi into playing bass…

  2. April 7, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I make KILLER borshch, and I think it’s actually better than the one my grandmothers made. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

