Home > Random Musings > A Bookish Christmas

A Bookish Christmas

I received a number of books for Christmas. This shouldn’t come as a surprise. Without books (and coffee), I’m fairly sure I’d turn into the Madwoman in the Attic—but don’t go calling me Bertha (or Antoinette) just yet. (Whoever guesses both those references wins my undying love for a whole week. *wink*) I certainly have enough books to tide me over.

I prefer books to DVDs. There was a time where I liked both equally, but “I’d rather have books” has apparently become my mantra. I should probably amend that to good books, but that’s entire subjective, unless the author’s name is Snooki or Paris. Then I can safely say, Shakespeare has rolled over in his grave.

But I digress. Let’s talk about books.

I’ve just read The Stepsister Scheme by Jim C. Hines, and it was a really fun book. All the characters were clever, distinctive, and amusing. The plot kept me turning the pages. I didn’t want it to end (now, I just have to get my hands of the rest of his Princess series). I never would’ve stumbled across Hines, if it weren’t for Kat Howard and her awesome blog (unintentionally, she’s responsible for the bulk of my Christmas book haul). I found Kat via something Neil Gaiman posted at some point, thus proving that the Internet is fantastic place for the Creatives. Which should never be confused with the ROUSes or the Borg, if one might be so oddly inclined.

Bear with me. I’m tired, and this coffee appears to have been made by stingy monkeys who failed to add enough actual COFFEE.

Now, I’ve begun reading Deanna Raybourn’s latest installment in her Julia Grey series, Dark Road to Darjeeling, which is fantastic. If Deanna’s written a book, it is always good. Except, I suspect, the ones left in the attic. But anyone who has written anything has manuscripts that resemble Frankenstein’s monster. If you don’t, you either need to readjust your ego—or you are Shakespeare reborn, in which case I expect novels and plays starring three witches, Inverness, and a magical fairy named Puck. GO. (Note: I am being silly and projecting a bit. My point, which is buried rather densely, is that Deanna is a brilliant author–and I relish reading what she’s written. This current novel plays a bit on my admiration of peacocks, and now I’m afraid I’m going to have to find a dress in peacock blue.)

The rest of the To Be Read Pile is as follows:

  • On Writing by Stephen King – I’ve been meaning to read this for years. I’ve read excerpts. I want to learn.
  • Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King – I’ve heard such good things about this novel. I’m very excited.
  • The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper. By all accounts, a fantastic series, and I’m so looking forward to it.
  • The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman. I read Practical Magic years ago, after seeing and LOVING the movie, and I’ve been meaning to read something else by her. Now, I can.
  • Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu. A vampire novel published 25 years before Dracula, and one of his sourcebooks. This one was a surprise from my brother. I suppose I really should try my hand at another vampire novel. (Yes. Another. The first one is in the attic.) I promise: no one will sparkle or be named Edward. Or Reneesme.
  • Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger. I had to copy her last name directly from the book, because I can’t even begin to recall the spelling on my own. I’ve heard excellent things about this novel (*cough* Andrea *cough*), and anyone who references Blake is fine by me.

It was a wonderful, happy, book-filled, food-filled Christmas. There were also video games, which is something of a tradition in my house.

I hope that everyone had a great holiday.

  1. Andrea
    December 29, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Hurray for lots of books! I didn’t get nearly as many as I’d hoped, but my family has my birthday to make it up to me. 🙂

    I’ve read excerpts of On Writing and loved them. You’ll have to tell me if the entire thing is worth a read.

    Sadly, I didn’t know those two references, but I Googled them, so can I have the undying love anyway? *grin*

    I hope you like Her Fearful Symmetry. For me, it is one of those books that I like more and more the more I think about it and discuss it. I can’t wait to hear what you think!

    • Ali
      December 30, 2010 at 1:31 pm

      I have your birthday on my calendar! And Jack’s. *grin* I will let you know about On Writing–and Her Fearful Symmetry. I’m looking forward to both! 🙂

  2. December 29, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    You are definitely keeping busy. “On Writing” is a fantastic source. But I actually enjoyed it more as an audiobook, because it’s read by King himself and he makes it that much better. 🙂

    I just did a three-book review and probably have a couple more coming.

    • Ali
      December 30, 2010 at 1:33 pm

      I always toy with the idea of audiobooks, but I like the physical book much better–to have something in hand. If I’m listening to it, my mind wanders. I suppose that makes a statement about my attention span. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

