Home > Random Musings > The Art of Signing Things

The Art of Signing Things

When I was in high school, one of my friends bought me a birthday card. In it, it said something about love and other indoor sports. This was freshman year of high school, I believe, and there was some inside joke tucked in there about soccer. (Someone had a crush on the captain of the soccer team, who was gorgeous, a senior, and the class president. Nothing like aiming high. *ahem*)

 Anyway, after that, I used to sign things, “Love and _____.” It became a kind of creative game. “Love and smiles,” “Love and starlight,” “Love and laughter,” or “Love and dreams.” Admittedly, some were more creative than others, but it became a habit. That’s how I signed things.

 Somewhere along the way, I stopped doing that. Now, I just sign Love, when it’s applicable. Simple. Ta-da. Nothing sparkly about it. I can’t remember what made me stop signing things with a bit of, well, flare. Did someone make fun of me? Did I simply think I was too old to be so silly? I wish I could remember, but I can’t. No matter how much coffee I drink.

 I was reminded of this yesterday, when I was finishing up my Christmas cards. I am absolutely abysmal about figuring out what to write in cards. So, if you get a card from me, and I’ve said something boring or stupid – forgive me. I probably spend entirely too much time coming up with the boring or stupid sentence. Really. I feel like I might as well write, “Nice feet” and be done with it.

 Also, my handwriting has not improved over the years, so if you were expecting perfectly legible handwriting, go look somewhere else. I can’t do it. I can, however, write in pretty purple ink, because I rock like that.

 When I get to the end, though, and I have to sign my name…I tend to agonize over that a little bit. OK, so you’re a good friend or an old work acquaintance – what do I write? There are some people where writing “Love” just isn’t appropriate. I can’t very well write, “Much Like” and then sign my name. I’ve compromised somewhat, I think, and I tend to write, “Hugs, Ali.” But I also feel like the closing greeting should fit well. And let’s face it: it often doesn’t. “Best” is too formal, as is “Fondly” and “Warmly.” I feel silly just signing my name.

 Then I wonder if I’m taking this all too seriously.

 Love Fondly Warmly xoxo

 

Oh, screw it.

Categories: Random Musings
  1. December 13, 2010 at 10:13 am

    When I can’t figure it out I just sign my name.
    Of course nothing can top my cousin who signed my notepad one day “Nothing particularly interesting – *name*” I still have that saved somewhere though, I told him I’d keep it for when he became a famous writer. (He still hasn’t made it but he is teaching at a nice school now).
    Sorry about my rambling, but I do like your “love and ____.” You could always go back to that.

  2. Jessica
    December 14, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Sometimes if I don’t want to actually write the word love, I’ll draw a heart in front of my name. I like the “Love and _____” idea. I sign “Love and hugs” sometimes. I guess it really depends on who I’m talking to.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

