Home > Random Musings > Thanksgiving, Traditions, and What Dante Forgot

Thanksgiving, Traditions, and What Dante Forgot

Thanksgiving has always been a big deal in my house. When I was little, we would make the crazy trek to visit both sets of grandparents – having breakfast with one and dinner with the other. Breakfast usually involved my grandmother’s awesome corn muffins, which are still the best I’ve ever had. Dinner had pretty much every kind of yummy food you can imagine, with a few of our personal traditions thrown in there – antipasto, stuffed artichokes, and chocolate pudding for dessert.

Of course, things don’t always go according to plan – like the time my aunt forgot to defrost the pumpkin pie (which might be the reason we switched to pudding). Or the time that my grandmother ate all the stuffed artichokes (one of my favorite dishes that she made just for me) and had to make more – the night before Thanksgiving.

This year, I’m cooking Thanksgiving dinner, which means I’m a small whirlwind of chopped veggies and cleaning products – although not in the same instance. That’s not sanitary. Roughly ten people will be descending for Turkey Day, and I have my mother’s disease of Have Too Much, instead of Not Enough. I’m fairly certain there will be enough food to feed a small army of really hungry ninjas – which is totally fitting, because I’m sure someone will get hopped up on sugar and enact a ninja version of the Tasmanian devil.

Of course, cooking for that many people means I started yesterday. I even had Julie and Julia on for a little while. I managed not to let the puppy get in my way, but it was not for his lack of trying. Today, I have brownies to cook, stuffing to make, yam sauce to put together – and that last one is a trip.

Last year, I read the recipe wrong, and it took me an entire decade to get the sauce to thicken. It was a circle in Hell that Dante forgot.

Live and learn, my friends – and try not to drop the turkey on the floor like one of my aunts did, while I was on the phone with her, many years ago. Still one of the funniest things ever.

  1. November 24, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Would love detailed instructions on keeping puppy out of the way while cooking. My puppies taught my kitties how to beg, and now whenever someone is doing something marginally interesting in the kitchen, all four of them sit around and beg.

    Best of luck with the big feast! I know you’ll do great.

  2. Jessica
    November 24, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving dear. I’m thankful for YOU!

    • Ali
      November 24, 2010 at 9:43 pm

      Right back at you, Jessica!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

