Home > Poetry, Writing > The Ghost of Things

The Ghost of Things

(for Zeus)

The floorboards creak and I turn,
expecting to see you there, ready
to greet me. In that
half a second, in that hopeful noise, I forget
that you are gone. I forget
that you are never coming back.
I forget what happened.
(I wait for those moments, sometimes,
welcoming that split-second amnesia.)

Other times, I think I see you, pivoting
on the edges of my vision, sitting there
or standing in a hallway, in a corner
waiting, perhaps waiting for me –
but when I look, you are gone,
and it is just the ghost of things
that remains.

Memories and mirages
make for strange, poor company –
but they are what has stepped
into your footsteps, leaving vague footprints
where you once left muddy ones,
wet little temporary tattoos,
muddled with bits of grass, streaking
the floor purposefully, as if to say
I was here.
And so you were.

Categories: Poetry, Writing Tags: , ,
  1. November 6, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I really like “Memories and mirages make for strange, poor company…” Excellent!

  2. Andrea
    November 8, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Awww, Ali this is so sad! *Giant Hugs*

    • Ali
      November 9, 2010 at 9:40 am

      Thanks, Andrea! *Giant hugs back*

  3. Jessica
    November 9, 2010 at 2:46 am

    I like this a lot. It’s sad, but relatable. Sometimes you forget that things aren’t the way they used to be…

    • Ali
      November 9, 2010 at 9:42 am

      Thanks, Jessica. There are so many ghosts, sometimes. It’s harder NOT to see them than it is to see them. Thanks for reading this. I appreciate it.

  4. April 29, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Adored.

    — c.

    • Ali
      April 29, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      Thank you! 🙂

  5. April 29, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Very cool. I’ve always been jealous of the poetry writer.

    • Ali
      April 30, 2011 at 8:40 am

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting! 🙂 I’m glad that you liked this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

