I’ll Show You Mine

Yesterday, a conversation on Twitter switched from a discussion about Game of Thrones to talking about our To Be Read Piles. Mine is a heap in the corner of my bedroom. I keep reading, but it keeps growing.

Because, guys, I have a problem. I can’t stop buying books. If someone wants to get me a present, nine times out of ten, I say, “BOOK!” My best friend has taken to mocking me, “I like…books.” It’s funny when she says it, her words punctuated by unshed laughter. She usually has an evil look in her eye. But I digress.

In my world, books are everywhere. They’re in the attic, in the closet, under the entire bed, on the bookshelf, and piled on top of my dresser. The bookshelf in my bedroom looks so overrun that it might border on furniture abuse.

So far, this year, I’ve read the following:

So, yes – my name is Ali, and I’m addicted to books.

But my To Be Read Pile is an unholy monstrosity. If it ever becomes sentient, I’m done for. Below is a picture, but – quid pro quo, Clarice. If I show you mine, I want you to show me yours. Take a picture of your To Be Read Pile. Blog about it. Tweet about it. Share the addiction.

The books: Sky Burial (Dana Levin), IT (Stephen King), The Shining (Stephen King), Wandering Fire; Darkest Road; and Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay), The Princess Bride (William Goldman; read previously, but a zillion years ago), Strip Mauled (Ed. by Esther Friesner), The Haunting of Hill House (Shirley Jackson), Love and Other Impossible Pursuits (Ayelet Waldman), The Forest for the Trees (Betsy Lerner), the Last Unicorn (Peter S. Beagle — which I’ve already read, but not since 1998), Hit or Missus (Gayle Carline), Something Borrowed and Something Blue (Emily Giffin), Divergent (Veronica Roth), The Haunting of Maddy Clarke (Simone St. James), Guardian of the Dead (Karen Healey), City of Fallen Angels (Cassie Clare), The Name of the Wind (Patrick Rothfuss), Anna Dressed in Blood (Kendare Blake), The Shattering (Karen Healey), Shatter Me (Tahereh Mafi), When Maidens Mourn (C.S. Harris), The Unremembered (Peter Orullian), The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern), The Winter Palace (Eva Stachniak), The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Rae Carson), all the Sandman comics (Gaiman), A Girl and Five Brave Horses (Sonora Carver), Tam Lin (Pamela Dean) and Locke and Key: Keys to the Kingdom (Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez).

  1. April 10, 2012 at 10:01 am | #1

    That is quite a stack! Here’s mine: Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Divergent by Veronica Roth, Grave Mercy by R.L. LaFevers, Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, Lord John and the Scottish Prisoner by Diana Gabaldon, Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati, Everneath by Brodi Ashton, The Steel Seraglio by Mike Carey, Hourglass by Mara McEntire, Abide with Me by Ian Ayris, and The Ghost in Love and From the Teeth of Angels, both by Jonathan Carroll. I’ll alsi probably re-read Outlander by Diana Gabaldon at sime point, and possibly A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Swords to refresh my memory for the show, since it’s been a year or two since I last read them. Also, I may grab a few titles from your pile. :-)

    • April 10, 2012 at 1:03 pm | #2

      I really, really want to read Cinder. The cover is GORGEOUS. Oh, and I keep meaning to read something by Jonathan Carroll. I have to make this down. *Grin* Love your list, chica!!!

  2. April 10, 2012 at 11:01 am | #3

    I will share mine in my Thursday blog post. I don’t know if I can beat you, but I will join you!!

  3. April 10, 2012 at 11:32 am | #5

    HA HA I thought I recognized my book’s spine! I’d show you my stack, but half of them are on my Kindle.

    • April 10, 2012 at 1:04 pm | #6

      I know, Gayle — I’m sorry I haven’t gotten to it yet!!!

  4. April 10, 2012 at 11:33 am | #7

    LOVE this post. I have an addiction as well. Anytime it comes to buying someone a present it’s a book. I never go to the library because I MUST OWN THEM. Nice work so far this year on your books read. It’s too depressing to think about my to-read list. Now excuse me while I go quietly sob.

    • April 10, 2012 at 1:05 pm | #8

      Jules, I WANT TO SEE YOURS. *grin* No sobbing. Or read WHILE you sob. ;-) Also, that is my problem too — I NEED to own them. Sometimes, I write notes in the margin. I’m also an occasional page-folder. The library frowns on that sort of thing. hehe

  5. April 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm | #9

    I love this!!!! I’ll have to take some pictures and blog them. I will probably not list all the titles because there are too many. You must read DIVERGENT and ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD soon. They were both some of my favorite reads last year.

    • April 10, 2012 at 1:06 pm | #10

      Yay!!! I’m looking forward to your post about this. I think I’ll read DIVERGENT, after I finish up RED GLOVE and LOCKE AND KEY: KEYS TO THE KINGDOM. I’m so excited for ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD, too. I have so much trouble choosing what to read next. hehehe

  6. April 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm | #11

    You are a giant step ahead of me in that you actually have a stack of physical books. My to read “pile” is just a really long Word document. :)

  7. April 12, 2012 at 3:15 pm | #12

    You should totally read ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD ASAP! I loved that book so hard. I honestly didn’t think I would, but Cas, the narrator, is badass and adorable, if that’s even possible. :D

    • April 14, 2012 at 9:26 am | #13

      After I finish the Curse Workers series, I will start ANNA. So excited!!! Badass and adorable is probably the perfect narrator, in my eyes. *grin*

  8. April 19, 2012 at 4:45 pm | #14

    Here is mine >_<, it's not a pile it's a mountain
    Blood Bound by Rachel Vincent
    Dead of Night by Jonathan Maberry
    The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
    A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
    Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott
    Enthralled Anthology
    The Woven Path by Robin Jarvis
    Looking for Alaska by John Green
    The Poison Diaries:Nightshade by Maryrose Wood
    Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson
    North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
    P.O.D by Stephen Wallenfels
    The Declaration by Gemma Malley
    Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready
    The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
    Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting
    After Obsession by Carrie Jones & Steven E. Wedel
    Wickedness by Deborah White
    The Mediator Book 1 Love You to Death by Meg Cabot
    The Mediator Book 2 High Stakes by Meg Cabot
    The Mediator Book 3 Mean Spirits by Meg Cabot
    The Mediator Book 4 Young Blood by Meg Cabot
    The Mediator Book 5 Grave Doubts by Meg Cabot
    The Mediator Book 6 Heaven Sent by Meg Cabot
    Through the Storm by Maureen Lee
    Rogue by Rachel Vincent
    Shift by Rachel Vincent
    Prey by Rachel Vincent
    Pride by Rachel Vincent
    Alpha by Rachel Vincent
    Stray by Rachel Vincent
    Red Glove by Holly Black
    Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony
    Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky
    Blood Red Road by Moira Young
    Full Dark No Stars by Stephen King
    Flyaway by Lucy Christopher
    The Vanishing of Katharina Linden by Helen Grant
    Small Blue Thing by S. C. Ransom
    Mister Creecher by Chris Priestley
    The Night of the Solstice by L. J. Smith
    Crossed by Ally Condie
    Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
    Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
    Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally
    Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry
    City of Shadows by Celia Rees
    A Trap in Time by Celia Rees
    The Host Rides Out by Celia Rees
    Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
    Greywalker by Kat Richardson
    Poltergeist by Kat Richardson
    Underground by Kat Richardson
    Vanished by Kat Richardson
    Labrynth by Kat Richardson
    Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn
    The Magicians Apprentice by Trudi Canavan
    Cold Hands, Warm Heart by Jill Wolfson
    Moon Spell by Samantha Young
    Anathema by Meg Jensen
    The Soul Keepers by G.P.Ching
    Gifts of The Blood by Vickie Keire
    Darkness In The Blood by Vickie Kiere
    Bloodlines by Lindsay Anne Kendal
    Torment by Lindsay Anne Kendal
    Tower of Palen Min by Mat Xell
    The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose Blodgett
    Hollowland by Amanda Hocking
    Illicit Magic by Camilla Chafer
    Third Grave Dead Ahead by Darynda Jones
    Blindsided by Priscilla Cummings
    Fair Game by Patricia Briggs
    The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
    Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Lani Taylor
    The Calling by Kelley Armstrong
    Slow Twitch by Liz Reinhardt

    and possibly a few more that I can't remember at the moment. O_o

  9. April 19, 2012 at 4:49 pm | #15

    Link to photo of my physical books, the rest are all ebooks
    http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a226/michalice/100_0836.jpg

  10. April 25, 2012 at 11:50 pm | #16

    Lol, I love how the stack of books looks taller than the table it is sitting on!!! And yep, I’m all about the books as gifts too, or giftcards to bookstores.

    • April 26, 2012 at 8:04 am | #17

      Heather, it’s actually a tiny footstool! I started stacking them there, and that’s what happened. lol

  11. May 24, 2012 at 1:48 am | #18

    Now that I’m off school for the summer, I can finally get back to reading: and my to-be-read list keeps getting longer. I keep it on Goodreads, and I spent time adding to it tonight, which is why I came back to find this post and add a few books from it. And then I found you on Goodreads, which is probably just going to lead to more books being added to my list…

  1. April 12, 2012 at 7:08 am | #1
  2. April 21, 2012 at 10:27 am | #2
  3. May 15, 2012 at 10:19 am | #3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

